Indie Author Interview- Kayla Kirby

Hello everyone,

Today is a great day at Best-When Read Daily as I am here to share with you all my very first featured author for Indie Author Interview Monday. Every Monday I will be presenting a new a indie author to where we will be discussing their work, style of writing, and inspirations behind there career. Let’s get started, super excited. 

Today’s featured author is a newly published Kayla Kirby, author of her debut novel “Souls Of This Broken City” Book One in her Necklace Series and a great book I had the pleasure of reading might I add. Last week I posted an review and detailed info about her book, an today we will hear a little more about the author. Here is a little bit about Kayla before we get to the questions.

Author bio

Kayla Kirby was born and raised in Washington State, a place she has never really considered home. She dreams of traveling someday with her family to see new sights and discover the secrets of the world. She began writing when she was a young child and started with writing Harry Potter fanfiction.

 

Kayla met her now-husband in High School through a debate about the similarities of Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. Their romance started nearly two years after meeting and the pair eloped shortly after. Kayla packed up her life in Washington and moved to California with her husband, finding her home under the warm sun and close to the water fronts. However, a year later, they moved back to Washington where they currently reside, waiting to once again leave the rainy, Evergreen State behind.

 

When she isn’t writing, Kayla is either spending time with her husband, their young and active toddler, and their family including their dog Kodiak or working on her photography or, on a not-so-rare occasion, having arguments with her fiction characters inside her head.

​Now to the good stuff. Here are the questions I had the pleasure of asking Kayla.

Questions:

Tell us a little more about your recent book?

My most recent book is Souls of This Broken City and is an urban fantasy/dystopian fiction book that follows the story of Chase Tombson as he learns who, and what he is, as a Soul within our world. It is the first installment in The Necklace Series.


What has been your favorite part of writing it?

Seeing the story unfold and the characters gain their personalities. The characters have seriously written themselves, haha. I also love hearing how people have connected to the characters and seeing their predictions for each character.


How many hours a day do you write?

Anywhere from 2 to 6 hours, depending on how many times a day I sit down. I do it in parts.


What gives you inspiration to continue writing?

The fact that I am chasing a dream of mine and my husband has repeatedly told me I have stories in my head that the world needs to have. He’s seriously been a huge help and I’ve wanted to be an author since I was a child.
What has your experience been like as an indie author?

It’s been hard, but so very rewarding. I have met incredible people I wouldn’t have if I had traditionally published and I am so glad I met these people. I’ve read some amazing books over the past several months after joining the community and discovered new authors I wouldn’t have if I hadn’t found the indie community. They are all so supportive because we are all in this together and have all faced the same struggles with self publishing.


What has been the biggest surprise you’ve experienced as an indie author?

Probably how much goes into editing and formatting. I never realized how difficult it was and from having my manuscript edited, I’ve learned a lot about how to write properly! I also didn’t know that formatting included computer coding, which is another passion of mine. I talked to my editor on a daily bases while she was editing and formatting and she explained a lot to me.


Any WIPs in the making?

Besides the second installment of The Necklace Series (the title has not been announced), I am working on a co-write with my husband, Thomas Kirby, called Tilly. It follows the story of a young woman named Tilly who escapes prostitution in Seattle, WA after her attempted murder gives her the chance and works to take down the organization that enslaved her.


Do you prefer to write stand alone novels or a series?

It depends on what the story is that is wanting to be told. I have a few stand alone novels I want to write and I also have at least two series’. So yeah it really honestly all depends.


Where do you draw your inspiration when creating a character?

It’s a bit of an interesting process. Each of my characters have bits and pieces of people I know inside them and have bits and pieces of myself in them. They develop around the story and I go with my gut for making them who they are. Their ethnicity, religion, struggles, ext are all gut feelings and I run with it. I research parts of them I don’t know and apply the information I find. When it comes to names, I give them a name that means something to the role they play or the struggles they face and how they overcome it. It’s a little “Easter egg” of sorts for readers to try and find out who the characters are a little bit more (the only exception to this rule is Treea). From there, I “interview” them and write down questions and answer them as if I was the character to better get to know them. Then, when I start writing, they write themselves and I just go with it.

What is the most difficult thing about writing a character of the opposite sex?

Honestly, it’s making them seem like the opposite sex. Take Chase and his friend, BS, for example; they’re teenage boys. I’m a girl so I never experienced life as a teenage boy. Of course, I have brothers and I spent a lot of time in HS around my guy friends and so I had a slight idea on how to make male characters, but that’s all I had to go off of. I had to learn an entire new body language and way of speaking for me to try and make them realistic. 


Do you try to be more original or to deliver what the reader wants?

I’m original. Because I write with my heart and follow my gut, I write what I feel needs to be said. There will be hints to what readers want, but honestly I’m telling the story how it needs to be told, not trying to please others by writing it how they see fit. That’s what fanfiction is for (which I hope to see some fanfiction of my books someday).


What is the main thing you want readers to take away from your book?

I want them to realize that their actions will always have an impact. That the words they speak will have an impact. That anytime you drop a friend off or get off the phone could be the last time you see that person and whatever you talked about or said or did will be what you remember most about them. I want readers to be more careful with their words and actions and to realize that everything they do begins a butterfly effect, whether that be good or bad. Build people up, don’t break them down.


What would you like to say to readers and fans?

I want to thank them for reading my work and to ask them to please leave a review. Good or bad. Reviews help the indie community a lot and they are all welcome. And tell others about my book. Word of mouth is a powerful tool and I would really appreciate it if you told others about my book and helped me get my name out there.


Any last comments you would like to add?

Just a thank you for this opportunity and letting me be your first interview! To the readers, feel free to find me on social media! I would love to connect with all of you and get to know you. I want to interact with readers, not just milk them for reviews. I want to hear your questions and comments and predictions and your thoughts on the characters and story. So please, stop by sometime and say “hi”!

Here’s more about Kayla Kirby’s debut novel.

Synopsis

      Chase Tombson wants to live unseen by the world so he can be a protective force for his sister, only her and his best friend by his side. Blinded to the war raging on around them, the three friends focus on their lives as young teens while an uprising is growing between those in charge and those they rule over.

      In search for answers about their friend’s brutal and mysterious death, Chase’s world is turned upside down when he comes face-to-face with a shadow world hidden within his own. Facing enemies beyond human capabilities, who have kidnapped his sister, can Chase gather allies and mount a rescue? The clock has started, and Chase’s actions will shape the future. Can he make it to the light, or will he succumb to the darkness surrounding him?


 Here are the links to purchase your copy today!

 Purchase links

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2gx8haR

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2gE8HBs

Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/2hBdEee

 You can follow Kayla Kirby and stay up to date with all of her WIPs, releases, events and more by following her at the links below.

Author links

Facebook- http://bit.ly/2gEtYsN

Twitter- http://bit.ly/2gRELh5

Goodreads- http://bit.ly/2hrxLrY

Amazon- http://amzn.to/2gsCCrf

Instagram- http://bit.ly/2gsQEcb

Website- kaylakirby.com


 Make sure you pick up your copy of “Souls Of This Broken City” today. Remember when reading all reviews, good or bad, are welcomed by the author. Of course good is always better;)

I’d like to take this time to thank Kayla for taking the time out to participate in this interview and I wish you much success in your career.

To get more from yours truly, like my page on facebook and subscribe to my newsletter. Also make sure to hit like and follow to get more awesome reviews, book releases, and author interviews. Links are below. Goodbye for now, stay sane, be happy, and read on.

Fb: http://facebook.com/authornsb

Newsletter:http://eepurl.com/ctwpiz

Leave a Reply

