Indie Author Interview – Rebekah Dodson

             Good morning, afternoon, or evening to you all where ever in the world you may be reading this post. Grab a cup of coffee with me, maybe tea, or heck a glass of wine is even better. Today I bring you the first post of the New Year, YAY. Rebekah Dodson has graciously allowed me to take her away from her writing to bring forth to you a great interview. Before we get into the really good stuff let’s talk about Rebekah’s latest book,  “Mirrors” Book One to The Curse of Lanval series. 


Book Blurb:

Guillaume Lanval never thought this would happen to him: trapped in 1154 AD, this college students and paramedic is burned at the stake, drowned almost twice, and meets the love of his life all to end the family curse. His sister, Jules, fights beside him as they don bow and arrow, sword and shield, and sling to restore the throne and unite England and France. Through it all, Gill realizes that his world is so much smaller than he thought, and learns about life, love, and war in the middle ages. 

To buy Mirrors or any of Rebekah Dodson’s book visit her Amazon author page at 

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Rebekah-Dodson/e/B00IV61DVK


Now let’s hear from the talented author herself as we get more into her writing.


Questions

Tell us a little more about your recent book?

My book, Mirrors, is a fun ride through the eyes of Guillaume Lanval, a college student and paramedic who finds himself trapped in the middle ages with his sister, Jules. When disaster strikes, he finds he has to stay in 1154AD to avoid changing the course of history. 

What genre do you consider your book?

It’s a little romance, but mostly it’s more historical and adventure. Amazon classified it as Arthurian Legend, Historical Saga, and New Adult. 

What has been your favorite part of writing it?

He’s snarky and conceited, and I loved writing him, as well as the rich historical aspect of time travel! My favorite part was writing about the cultural, fashion, and food of the middle ages, as well as basing two of the female character after actual medieval women that time has mostly forgotten. 

How many hours a day do you write?

Two hours as day, from 4am-6pm, seven days a week. 

What gives you inspiration to continue writing?

Mostly my muse – every time I get stuck he has the best advice, even if it’s “Add more dragons!” I am also very visual – I love looking at pictures, painting, and art concepts and then describing those scenes with words. I get inspired simply looking at paintings or photographs. 

What has your experience been like as an indie author?

Very difficult. It’s a lot of work I didn’t expect, and very expensive. Good editing and cover are essential, but that’s only the first part. Author takeovers, blog blitzes, and connecting with other authors is very time consuming. 

What has been the biggest surprise you’ve experienced as an indie author?

The cost. EVERYTHING is expensive – editing, covers, book trailers. It’s worth it to get the recognition of a professional author, however. 

Any WIPs in the making?

Yes! There are 4 books after Mirrors, and I’m currently working on Book 4. I also have the following releases this year:

  • Prairie Rose (Historical Romance) 
  • Assassinating Abraham (time travel/romance)
  • City of Fire (Apocalypse/romance)
  • Clock City (YA Steampunk)
  • Academonic Pursuits (comedy) 
  • The Power of Four (Adventure)
  • Super Sam (superhero/adventure) 

Do you prefer to write stand on novels or a series?

I usually only write series, but I also have a few stand alone novels, such as Sixteen Days and In Time for Love and Coffee. They were shorter romances (about 45k) that didn’t make sense to write in a series. Postcards from Paris, The Surrogate, The Curse of Lanval, and the upcoming City of Fire are all serial novels. 

Where do you draw your inspiration when creating a character?

 Much like scenes, I also look a models for creating a character. To be honest, many of them are based on people I know, thought I won’t tell you if they are students, faculty, or friends. That’s a trade secret. 
What is the most difficult thing about writing a character of the opposite sex?

Getting into the head of a male character is really rough. I have to remember they wouldn’t notice details like hair flips, makeup, or fashion. Instead I tend to focus on voice levels and some body movements. 

Do you try to be more original or to deliver what the reader wants?

I try to strike a balance of both, to be honest. I’ve only written one novel that didn’t have a HEA (happily ever after) and it wasn’t received well. I do try to be original with characters – my female characters are usually highly educated and not thin, or even gorgeous for that matter – but I do enjoy sticking to plots that readers will expect, such as goofy/romantic scenes that have all the feels. 

What is the main thing you want readers to take away from your book?

No matter who you are, or what you like to reader, books can transport you to another world. I want people to feel less alone, and like my characters experience what they have been though. 

What would you like to say to readers and fans?

Whether you got my books for free or not, I hope that you enjoy them. A little piece of my heart and soul was poured into each one. When you cry, know that I did, too. When you laugh at their antics, I did when I wrote it. When a line makes you feel all fuzzy inside or even anger you, know I felt that more deeply than anything else. 

Any last comments you would like to add?

Leave a review! Seriously, it’s the best way to hug your favorite author. You have no idea how giggly happy we get even to get a 4-star that says someone liked it. Authors are critical and hard on ourselves, more than most, I think. A review can change their entire day, and might mean the difference between that best seller and giving up. Show some love. 


Here is a little more about Rebekah 

Rebekah Dodson is a prolific word weaver of romance, fantasy, and science fiction novels. Her works include the series Postcards from Paris, The Surrogate, The Curse of Lanval series, several stand alone novels, and her upcoming YA novel, Clock City. She has been writing her whole life, with her first published work of historical fiction with 4H Clubs of America at the age of 12, and poetry at the age of 16 with the National Poetry Society. With an extensive academic background including education, history, psychology and English, she currently works as a college professor by day and a writer by night. 

You can follow Rebekah’s writing endeavours and more by following her at the links below:

Rebekah Dodson  Iinks:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/realrebekahdodson  

Twitter: https://twitter.com/authorrdodson

Website: http://rdodson83.wixsite.com/rebekahdodson  

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Rebekah-Dodson/e/B00IV61DVK



I want to thank you all for taking the time out of your busy schedules to read my blog. I would also like to thank Rebekah once again for participating in this interview. If you like this post make to hit the like button as well as follow to get more great interviews, reviews, book releases, giveaways, and more. You sure to follow me as well at the links provided below. Until next time everybody, stay happy, stay sane, and read on. Bye bye. 

My Links:

Fb: http://facebook.com/authornsb 

Twitter/Instagram: @Natibest92 

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/ctwpiz 

Leave a Reply

